Lorien Legacies – Series Review

The Lorien Legacies

By: Pitticus Lore


            The series follow the story of nine human-looking aliens brought to Earth when they were six years old. Their purpose is to grow into their powers and return to their planet, Lorien, and get it back from the evil Mogadorians. The teenagers have been protected by a charm, which only allows them to be killed in a set order, and by non-gifted guardians called Cêpan. 

            Up to the beginning of the first book, six have survived and reached 15 years. As their powers, their Legacies, start to develop they can’t stay hidden anymore. (Goodreads Summary)

My Review:

            I first started reading this series when I Am Number Four came out in 2010; as a young little fifth grader, nothing exited me more than aliens, and somehow this series managed to keep me interested for an entire six, almost seven, years. I recently picked up the final book in the series, and I must say I am sad to see it end. 

            Even though the Lorien Legacies is probably one of my favorite series of all time, I definitely  did not read them in a very orderly fashion. I read the first one when it came out because my librarian told me that I would enjoy it, and I counted down the days until the releases of the second and third books, but I honestly would forget about the series completely until I would see the newest installment in my local Barnes and Noble. Luckily, the story lie would be so rememberable that it would not be a problem that I momentarily forgot about its existence because as soon as I opened up the newest book, it would come right back to me.

            The story of John Smith is one full of many up and many, many, MANY downs, but it is overall very enjoyable to read. The author does a fantastic job in building up the character so the reader feels like they know them, but that really only makes it so much more heartbreaking when they are killed (which is an incredibly common theme in this series). Some of my favorite characters from the entire series are Nine (because he is a somewhat psychotic, sarcastic, smart-ass), Sarah, Six (she is the badass girl of my dreams), Eight, Marina, Sam, and Bernie Kosar.

          The action scenes are incredibly well written and described in a way that makes it easy to picture what is going on in my head, especially the scenes in Mexico. I only found myself lost a few times over the course of six books. SIX BOOKS! That is truly amazing. The story was fun, full of twists and turns (especially towards the end), but overall very easy to follow and very enjoyable.

           I truly am sad to see this series end because it feels like part of my childhood is ending with it. 

           In conclusion, I give this series four out of five stars for the incredible characters, well thought out story line, and fantastic writing. I highly suggest that anyone who is looking for a new series to love should go pick the first book, I Am Number Four, up and start reading it as soon as possible because as soon as you start, you won’t be able to stop until the very end.


If you would like to purchase I am Number Four

Book Depository

Barnes and Nobles 



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s